blog banner

About Gareth

Photo Credit: David Boni

Gareth was born on the 30th December, 1973 in a Birmingham hospital. For many years the most interesting thing about him was that both his parents are called Leslie. Determined not to be defined by this fact, Gareth decided he had to do something with his life that was more interesting than the name of his parents.

He worked for a bit in TV, so that he could tell people that he worked on shows such as The Big Breakfast and Richard & Judy. This was all very well and good, but he soon tired of being asked the question, “So what are the REALLY LIKE?”

He spent some time making television about crime authors so that he could go on about all the lovely authors he had interviewed such as Ian Rankin, PD James, Ruth Rendell, Val McDermid and Colin Dexter.

But still, the double-Leslie fact kept coming up and so he was forced to become an author himself.

He was first published in 2007 with The Dragon Detective Agency. Since then he has penned Space Crime Conspiracy The Considine Curse, Perry’s 5, Ninja Meerkats (10 books),The Adventures of the Steampunk Pirates (4 books), The Dinosaurs are Having a Party, Constable & Toop, The Society of Thirteen, No True Echo, Death or Ice Cream? and cult favourite, The Thornthwaite Inheritance. He recently brought out the long-awaited sequel, The Thornthwaite Betrayal (Piccadilly).  His latest series with Stripes is called Pet Defenders and involves pets fighting aliens.

Gareth spends most of his time writing books, visiting schools and performing at festivals. Sometimes he works on TV programmes. When he’s not doing these things he can be found hanging out with his wife Lisa and children, Herbie and Autumn or playing the slightly ludicrous number of stringed instruments in his front room.

Both of his parents are called Leslie (although his mum spells it Lesley).


The Dragon Detective Agency: The Case of the Missing Cats was shortlisted for the Waterstone’s Book Prize.
The Thornthwaite Inheritance was shortlisted for eleven local book awards and won seven of them.
The Considine Curse was voted Blue Peter Book of the Year 2012.

Death or Ice Cream? won the YTF Book Award 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *